Tuesday, November 23, 2004

More and more on the proposed changes to the Canada Council


Well, it seems that there are scads of people out there who are extremely nervous about the $3.2 million that the Canada Council distributes to artists.

I've written what I think, here, and here.

Jennifer McMackon is keeping track of who says what, and asking questions designed to point the discussion in certain directions.

Sally Mckay has a thread with a discussion it about the changes with no clear answers, yet.

Danielle Tremblay, of the Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario in Sudbury, along with Paul Couillard (FADO), Christine Burchnall (Artcite), Laura Margita (Galerie SAW Gallery), David LaRiviere (Artspace), Greg Woddbury (Charles Street Video), David Poolman (The Forest City Gallery) and Jewel Goodwyn, the Executive Director of artist-run centres and collectives for contemporary art in Ontario (ARCCO), make it clear that they don't like the proposed changes here.

Glenn Alteen, Lorna Brown, Keith Higgins and Jonathan Middleton of The Pacific Association of Artist Run Centres (PAARC), aren't terribly keen on it either. [32KB pdf download]

I'm fairly certain that le Regroupement des artistes en arts visuels du Québec (RAAV) doesn't like them either, but I can't find anything on their website.

If you know of anybody else doing stuff publicly let me know.

The folk from the west coast sum up why they are against the changes thusly:
"[The changes] will in effect subsidize audiences' access to contemporary art, as is the case for grant programs supporting visual art organizations.
And when it comes to the changes in the peer assessment process, it seems that they are rather attached to the free trips to Ottawa that the Canada Council supplies.

The folk in Ontario sum up their response this way:
Revisit the Key Moment eligibility requirement.
Re-affirm the importance of peer assessment.
Do not reduce funding for the mid-level grant recipients to $10,000.
Loosen restrictions for emerging artists and artists with modest projects.
If we go back and look at how the Canada Council gave away the $3.2 million dollars, there are a couple of things that jump out.

Last year, 60 artists received grants of $9,000.
35 artists received amounts ranging from $3,000 to $8,000.
20 artists received grants of in between $10,000 to $20,000.
56 artists received grants of in between $21,000 to $29,000.
24 artists received grants of in between $31,000 to $34,000.

If you're keeping score, that's a total of 195 artists. Here's the list:
Danny Aaluk, Lucas Aaluk, John Abrams, Vikky Alexander, Lois Andison, Jennifer Angus, Nicolas Baier, Jo-Anne Balcaen, Claudia Baltazar, Christian Barré, Catherine Beaudette, Gwenaël Bélanger, Judith Bellavance, Miguel Berlanga, Éric Bertrand, Monique Bertrand, Karl Beveridge, Jasmin Bilodeau, Dominique Blain, Nancy Bleck, Lori Blondeau, Catherine Bolduc, Scott Bowering, Katia Boyer, Sharyn Boyle, Eva Brandl, Tim Brennan, Sandra Brewster, Karin Bubas, Patrick Bureau, Catherine Burgess, Robert Burke, Richard Burns, William Burnstick, Paul Butler, Jennifer Campbell, Lyn Carter, Carlo Cesta, Lucie Chan, Judy Chartrand, Panya Clark Espinal, Gillian Collyer, Thomas Corriveau, Rino Côté, Marie-Josée Coulombe, Numa Dallaire, Paul Davies, Raphaelle de Groot, Kevin DeForest, Brian Deines, Jean-Sébastien Denis, Stefanie Denz, Élaine Despins, Tonia Di Risio, Megan Dickie, John Dickson, Susan Dobson, Kim Dorland, Chris Dorosz, Xinjian Du, Lucie Duval, William Eakin, Nicole Engelmann, Scott Evans, Jeane Fabb, Julie Faubert, Martha Fleming, Sylvie Fraser, Shelley Freeman, Nancy Friedland, Anna Frlan, Francesca Gabbiani, Christopher Gardiner, François Gaudet, Robert Gelineau, Raymond Gervais, Sébastien Giguère, Christopher Gill, Christian Giroux, Simon Glass, Martin Golland, Adrian Gollner, John Greer, Clinton Griffin, Angela Grossmann, Milutin Gubash, Sonia Haberstich, Sadko Hadzihasanovic, Arni Haraldsson, Michael Hatch, Marla Hlady, David Hoffos, Lucille Hogg, Richard Holden, Risa Simone Horowitz, Timothy Howe, Garry Kennedy, Christine Koch, Germaine Koh, Yumie Kono, Wanda Koop, Catherine Kozyra, Nestor Kruger, Sinisa Kukec, Christian Kuras, Valérie Lamontagne, Stacey Lancaster, Rodney Latourelle, Nicolas Laverdière, Nina Levitt, Micah Lexier, Jennifer Linton, Olivier Longpré, Kenneth Lum, Neil MacCormick, Sara MacCulloch, Medrie MacPhee, Arnaud Maggs, Susan Major, John Massey, Marilyn McAvoy, Kai McCall, Mary Katherine McCormick, Scott McFarland, Andrew McLaren, Simone Moir, Sandra Moore, Damian Moppett, Aude Moreau, Carlos Navarro Cervantes, Marianne Nicolson, Ronald Noganosh, Terry O'Flanagan, Karen Ostrom, Cheryl Pagurek, Alain Paiement, June Pak, Anna Passakas, Roberto Pellegrinuzzi, Beverley Pike, Bob Preston, Michèle Provost, Richard Purdy, Luke Ramsey, Elisa Rathje, Sylvie Readman, Bentley Reeves, Arthur Renwick, Gregory Reynolds, Richard Rivet, Mitchell Robertson, Christopher Rogers, Christina Ross, Natacha Roussel, Samuel Roy-Bois, Mohamad Salari, Jayne Miriam Sampaio, Ilan Sandler, Danielle Sauvé, Kevin Schmidt, Jean-Pierre Séguin, Elaine Sharpe, Miyuki Shinkai, Théodore Sims, Danny Singer, Kathleen Slade, Maurice Spira, Gregory Staats, Barbara Steinman, Carlos Ste-Marie, Sharon Switzer, Catherine Sylvain, Annie Thibault, Calla Thompson, Diana Thorneycroft, Elizabeth Too, Patrick Traer, Karen Trask, Patrick Viallet, Adrienne Vickers, Jean-Yves Vigneau, Stephen Waddell, Carol Wainio, Laurie Walker, Peter Walker, Steven White, James Williams, Loren Williams, Margaux Williamson, Olexander Wlasenko, Janice Wong, Julie York, Cybèle Young, Badanna Zack, Carl Zimmerman.
In order to give this money away, the Canada Council needed to invite 50 peers to Ottawa in order to go through all the applications. Here's that list:
Sylvat Aziz, Bruce Barber, Lance Bélanger, Yves Bouliane, Robert Boyer, Allyson Clay, Alvin Comiter, Rosemary Cosentino, Sylvain Cousineau, Francis Coutellier, Numa Dallaire, Thierry Delva, Aganetha Dyck, Leya Evelyn, Cliff Eyland, Michael Fernandes, Milutin Gubash, Isabelle Hayeur, Faye Heavyshield, Natalka Husar, Jay Johnson, Svava Juliusson, Colette Laliberté, Pierrette Lambert, Francine Larivée, Evan Foon Lee, J. J. Lee, Kent Monkman, Nancy Morin, Cherie Moses, Anna Nibby-Woods, Louis Ogemah, Baco Ohama, Daniel Olsen, Lionel Peyachew, Michèle Provost, Normand Rajotte, Dominique Rey, Richard Rivet, Henri Robideau, Cyril Seme, Sheila Spence, Arlene Stamp, Alan Syliboy, Jeffrey Thomas, David Urban, Renée Van Halm, Winsom Winsom, Pao Quang Yeh, David Zapparoli.
Still keeping score? That's a total of 245 Canadian Artists. How many of them have you heard of? Then to attempt to focus the discussion myself, is it such a good thing to keep Canadian Artists top secret?

As I've said elsewhere, I strongly disagree with the idea that these changes will force artists to paint pictures of children playing hockey in order to survive. I strongly believe that this will force the Canadian Art Market to change in very dramatic ways. It's all fine and dandy for someone to attempt to sell a Paul Kane painting for $2 million dollars,

Encampment, Winnipeg River. (CP)

don't you thnk it is a crying shame that Gershon Iskowitz's Highlands No. 3 (geez! The Globe and Mail couldn't even spell his name!!) only sold for $28,750 and "An energetic abstraction by Jean-Paul Riopelle" only went for $522,700.

Links to this post:

Create a Link

    Your Ad Here

      << Home